Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

A masterpiece, a place that blowed my mind, an object that captured my entire attention, a work of art that cannot be described by words …

 

Colosseum by night

Colosseum by night

 

When talking about a masterpiece I immediately think of Italy and it’s Roman antique sculptures, cathedrals and monuments.

For this week’s photo challenge I picked a photograph I took during my last holiday in Rom.

I went for the Colosseum.
A place that has more or less “survived” all this decades.
A monument that once combined desperation with hope and victory, when thinking about the gladiatoral shows or animal hunts that were performed there.

Standing in front of one of the greatest works of Roman architecture and the largest amphitheatre in the world, I remember to have a jaw-dropping reaction :).

